President Muhammadu Buhari has officially presented Nigeria’s visa policy at the State House, Abuja.
This was made known by Mr Bashir Ahmad, Personal Assistant on  Media to Buhari,  via his official  Twitter handle.
He said, “Nigeria’s Visa Policy (NVP 2020) provides an avenue to achieve African integration by the introduction of visas on arrival for short visits to Nigeria for holders of passports of African Union countries.”
This means that nations belonging to the African Union will be issued Visas once they arrive Nigeria. The President said that this new visa policy will help the economic situation of Nigeria as we begin to relate with other African nations with ease. It is proposed that with this visa policy Nigerians will come out of poverty by 2035.
The Eligible nations include ; Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cabo Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Cote d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau. Kenya, the Kingdom of Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Saharawi Arab Democratic Republic, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Kingdom of Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.
Nations like Somalia and Sudan who are have High terrorism activities are also included in the Visa on Arrival Policy.